top of page


The Perth Hebrew Congregation (PHC) is a strong, dynamic Modern Orthodox congregation that has been at the heart of the Perth Jewish community for more than 128 years.

The PHC welcomes Modern Orthodox Jewish people and families who move to Perth from interstate or overseas, with complimentary full membership for one year.  This includes dedicated seats in Shule, preferential pricing for functions and events, bar and bat mitzvah classes, youth programs and more!  

The PHC proudly owns and operates the Ruth Landau Harp Early Learning Centre (RLH ELC), the only Jewish and kosher ELC in Perth
for children from 6 weeks to 5 years of age.  

Both the Perth Mikvah and the kosher food centre are on the PHC campus in Menora WA. 

Windows for website 2014.jpg


"At its most sublime, Judaism is a complete and fulfilling way of life from cradle to grave.  Part of its beauty is the partnership between home and shule, in living a Jewish life.  The Shule is at the heart of the community."  
Rabbi Lieberman is passionate about community cohesion and enhancing the Jewish experience through modern thinking and innovation. 

Educated at Gateshead Yeshiva Gedolah in the UK and Yeshiva Pri Eitz Chaim in South Africa, Rabbi Lieberman attained Semicha from Rabbi Zalman Nechemya Goldberg in Jerusalem.  He is interested in mental health and attained his MSc in Applied Psychology for Mental Health at the University of Liverpool. He joined the PHC in 2018 after serving the Allerton Hebrew Congregation in Liverpool for 5 years.   


Outside of work, Rabbi Lieberman is a guitarist and enjoys playing and coaching in soccer, cricket and boxing.  In addition to English, he speaks Yiddish and Hebrew and after a few years in Perth, he now also speaks some 'Aussie'.

Rabbi and Rebbetzin Liat (who is from Johannesburg, RSA) are blessed with four beautiful children Gavi, Eli, Tamar and Elianna. 


President            Dr Michael Levitt AM
Vice President     Mr Adam Levine
Treasurer            Mr Sharon Ben-Pelech
Secretary            Mr Michael Wainstein
Board Member     Mrs Pnina Levine

Board Member     Mrs Heidi Mendelsohn
Board Member     Mr Alan Reubenson

Board Member     Mrs Melissa Rohald

Board Member     Mr Ariel Walters

bottom of page